
 
Choosing Quality Professional Development 
A Guide for Selecting Training to Meet Your Needs 
 
Training is a professional commitment that will involve your time and money and may impact your future career 
options. Take the time to investigate and choose the training that is beneficial for you. When you call or inquire about a 
training program, class, or workshop, it can be helpful to have questions about the trainer and the training prepared in 
order to make sure you are getting the training you want and need. You need to be satisfied with the answers and with 
the trainer.  
 
This information has been developed by the staff at Georgia Training Approval to help you be an informed consumer of 
training for early child care and education professionals. Whether you are pursuing training for yourself or are 
arranging professional development training for your staff, this information will help you evaluate the training 
opportunities available to you.   
 
While this information pertains primarily to training you may pursue to meet the 10-hours-a-year requirement for child 
care licensing, you will also find that you have many options available if your goal is to complete a credential or a 
degree.  
 

Questions to Ask Before You Sign Up for Training           
 
Is the trainer qualified? 
 

Ask about the instructor’s qualifications. Include questions about the instructor’s educational background, knowledge 
on the topic of training, years of experience as a trainer, and years of experience working with young children.  
 
Making sure that the trainer is state-approved is one way to ensure that the training meets the standard for training 
set by Georgia Training Approval. In Georgia, if you work in a licensed child care center or a registered family day care 
home, you must have at least 10 hours of state-approved training. A state-approved trainer will have a unique code 
that begins with TR-BFTS-(number). If a trainer is state-approved it means that they meet the following minimum 
qualifications: 

♦ A Bachelor’s Degree in child development, early childhood and/or related study 
♦ Experience in the early child care field 
♦ Training or education in how adults learn and how to facilitate learning 

 
 
What is the training about and is it something I should take? 
 

Look for two things: 
 

1.  Is the training state-approved or from an approved entity? 
All training that meets the state licensing requirement for the 10 hours of training a year must be state-
approved or provided by an approved entity. State-approved means that it has been reviewed and approved 
by Georgia Training Approval and is identifiable by an assigned state training code (TG-BFTS-number). An 
approved entity training is provided through a state agency (e.g., Georgia Department of Human Resources) or 
a college or university that has applied for and been given an ‘approved entity’ status. Approved entities will 
have an approved entity code (AE-BFTS-number). 

 
2. Do I need this training? 

Some training is required by child care licensing. You should consult the Child Care Licensing Rules and 
Regulations for specific training requirements. 
(http://decal.ga.gov/ChildCareServices/RulesAndRegulations.aspx) 

 
To find training that meets these requirements, your needs, and/or your particular interests, look for the competency 
goal(s) identified for the training. The competency goal will help you decide if the topic or information covered in the 
training will be useful for you. 
 

http://decal.ga.gov/ChildCareServices/RulesAndRegulations.aspx


 
In Georgia, competencies were developed to define the specialized body of knowledge needed for early care and 
education professionals. The competencies create a framework on which those who work with children can build their 
professional development goals. There are competencies for: 

♦ Early Care and Education (ECE) professionals who work with children birth through age five 
♦ School-Age Care (SAC) professionals who work in after-school programs with school-age children 
♦ Administration (ADM) for early care and education program administrators and directors 

 
For each area, ECE, SAC, ADM, there are a number of competency goals. Those who work in a licensed child care center 
or family day care home can choose training that meets their professional needs. Through the Georgia Early Care and 
Education Professional Development System, this training can be documented and planned according to competency 
goals and levels.   
 
Refer to the Professional Development Competencies and the Competency Tools for Self-Assessment guide available 
on the Georgia Training Approval website at www.training.decal.ga.gov.  
  
 
What is the cost? 
 

Cost for training varies widely but usually averages between $5 and $15 per hour of training. If the training is funded by 
another source, it may be available for little or no cost. Make sure to ask about the cost of the training, how many 
hours of training the cost includes, and whether or not there is an extra charge for materials, supplies, credit, etc.   
 
Also be sure to ask what methods of payment (cash, purchase order from your employer, check, charge, etc.) are 
accepted and about refund policies in the event you cannot attend a training that you have registered and paid for. 
 
It is advised that you look around to find not only training that you can afford but also training that will meet your 
needs. 
 
 
When and where is the training offered? 
 

Training is offered in various locations, times and days. Look for training that best fits your schedule. Some employers 
offer training for their staff during their regular work times, some do not. Be sure to find out when and where the 
training is offered so you can decide if you are able to attend. 
 
 
What format is the training? 
 

Most training is offered in a face-to-face format. Many people prefer a face-to-face class or workshop because of the 
opportunities to interact more with the trainer and with others in the class. More and more opportunities are 
becoming available for training in other formats such as conferences, independent study, and web-based instruction. 
Make sure that all training you take will meet your needs. If you want the training you take to count for BFTS licensing, 
remember that the training must be state-approved or provided by an approved entity. If you are not sure, consult the 
Georgia Training Approval website at www.training.decal.ga.gov or call 866-425-0220. 
 

* * * 
 
As a consumer of training, you should get the training you need to support your professional growth. You should 
receive quality training that lives up to your expectations, is relevant to you and your job, and makes efficient use of 
your time, abilities, and resources.  
 
Your options for training are many and varied. Consider what you want out of training, how much you can pay, what is 
accessible to you, and what type of training entity can best meet your requirements.  
 
 
 
 

http://www.training.decal.ga.gov/
http://www.training.decal.ga.gov/


Where to Find Training 
 
1.  Formal Education through Technical Schools, Accredited Colleges, and Universities 

Individuals may receive their professional development via a formal education path. This method of attaining 
knowledge not only meets your state requirements for training but also supports your personal and professional 
development as you progress along an educational pathway. In addition, it enhances career options and eligibility 
for financial assistance programs. 

 
Courses offered at these technical schools, accredited colleges, and universities traditionally are taught over a 
period of months and carry some type of academic credit or continuing education units (CEUs). These courses 
usually lead to some type of credential, certificate, diploma, or degree.   

 
In the past, formal education has sometimes been overlooked because it is considered too expensive or less 
accessible. Today, however, scholarships are available and may help eliminate some of the financial burden. There 
have also been many new advances in technology that allow online coursework. This type of learning is easily 
accessible and causes little disruption to work schedules.    

 
If formal education appeals to you, call or contact any of the following for additional information: 
♦ Your local college, university, or technical college 
♦ The Georgia Association on Young Children www.gayconline.org  
♦ SCHOLARSHIPS/INCENTIVES www.caresolutions.com  
♦ Pell Grant 1-800-4-FED-AID 1-800-433-3243 www.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/Students  
♦ HOPE Scholarships 1-800-776-6878 www.gsfc.org/hope  

 
 
2.  Community-Based Training 

Professional development opportunities are also available through Georgia’s community-based training delivery 
system. This system includes: 
♦ Independent trainers and consultants 
♦ Child care resource and referral agencies 
♦ Training companies 
♦ Conferences offered by professional membership organizations 

  
(2a)  Independent Trainers or Consultants 

Independent trainers or consultants are typically early childhood professionals who make all or part of their 
living providing training for early child care and education professionals. Many state-approved trainers list 
their trainings in the statewide training calendar on the Georgia Training Approval website at 
www.training.decal.ga.gov. Many independent trainers have the flexibility to provide on-site training should 
you request it, and, given enough time, can design a course specific to your needs.  

 
When utilizing independent trainers or consultants, be sure to ask for a résumé, a description of the course 
content, and references, and obtain written verification that their training has been approved through 
Georgia Training Approval. If their training has been approved, they will have received an official letter of 
approval and an approval code. It is important to note that all approvals have a five year lifespan, so check 
the training expiration date on the letter. Also verify that the trainer’s name is listed to teach each specific 
course. 

 
(2b) Local Child Care Resource and Referral Offices and County Extension Offices 

You can always look to your local Child Care Resource and Referral agency at www.gaccrra.org to find 
training in your area. Be sure to ask for references, a description of course content, and qualifications of all 
instructors. The same documentation of approval by Bright from the Start is required for training offered by 
Child Care Resource and Referral agencies. 

  
(2c) Training Companies 

In Georgia there are a number of companies that specialize in delivering professional development 
opportunities, training, and consulting services to the child care field. These companies advertise on the 
internet, in the statewide training calendar at www.training.decal.ga.gov, and through their own marketing 
campaigns. 

http://www.gayconline.org/
http://www.caresolutions.com/
http://www.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/Students
http://www.gsfc.org/hope
http://www.training.decal.ga.gov/
http://www.gaccrra.org/


 
Some companies have full-time trainers on staff, and others contract with independent trainers. Some do 
both. When exploring options with a training company, be sure to ask who will be delivering the training to 
your site, what their qualifications are, and who developed the content. Do not forget to ask for 
documentation of state-approval.  

 
(2d) Conferences  

Frequently, membership organizations will offer training conferences where numerous sessions are 
presented on topics of interest to a broad spectrum of child care providers. Just like individual training 
sessions, conferences can be approved through Georgia Training Approval. Check with the conference 
sponsor to verify the conference has received state conference approval. A maximum of six training hours 
may be earned at a single conference.  

 
 
3. CPR, First Aid, and Fire Safety Training 
 CPR, First Aid, and Fire Safety training do not need to be approved through Georgia Training Approval in order to 

meet Bright from the Start’s requirements, but this training should be obtained from a licensed or certified source.  
 

The Bright from the Start rules and regulations for child state the following concerning CPR and First Aid: “The first 
aid program must be done by certified or licensed health care professionals and must deal with the provision of 
emergency care to infants and children.” The following organizations are recommended for CPR and First Aid 
training: 

♦ American Heart Association (http://ahainstructornetwork.americanheart.org/AHAECC/
classConnector.jsp?pid=ahaecc.classconnector.home) 

♦ American Red Cross (http://www.redcross.org/)  
 

If you are thinking about going with an agency other than the American Heart Association or the American Red 
Cross for CPR or First Aid training, make sure you call the certifying agency (i.e., American Heart Association, 
American Red Cross) to make sure the individual providing the training through the company is currently 
recognized as a valid First Aid and CPR provider. 

 
For Fire Safety training, providers may contact Wanda Butler at the state Fire Marshall’s office at 404-657-0831 or 
wbulter@sfm.ga.gov for contact information of registered Fire Safety instructors in your area. 

 
 
 

Questions to Consider when Evaluating Training Options 
 
Does the program description or advertisement say what you will learn? 
 

A quality training program will have learning objectives that clearly state what you will learn as a result of the training, 
what you will be expected to do in the training, and what skills and knowledge you will acquire. They may be called 
"learning outcomes," "skill competencies," or "course objectives." They should be stated very specifically. 
  
 
Are the skills and knowledge you will be expected to learn up-to-date and related to real 
requirements?  
 

A quality learning program will have evidence that the course developer has current knowledge of research and 
information for the changing nature of the field and that there is some involvement with real providers or settings. 
 
 
Is there flexibility in scheduling and delivery? 
 

Quality training provides options for study. Are programs offered at times and places that are convenient? Do they 
allow enough time and flexibility so that you can work at your own pace? 
 

http://ahainstructornetwork.americanheart.org/AHAECC/classConnector.jsp?pid=ahaecc.classconnector.home
http://ahainstructornetwork.americanheart.org/AHAECC/classConnector.jsp?pid=ahaecc.classconnector.home
http://www.redcross.org/
mailto:wbulter@sfm.ga.gov


Will the method(s) of instruction ensure that you can learn? 
 

In quality training, there is variety in the teaching approaches, such as lectures, readings, demonstrations, self-directed 
learning, hands-on practice, and technology-based instruction. There should be enough flexibility that you can apply 
your preferred learning style in order to be successful. Appropriate technologies and innovative approaches should be 
available.   
  
 
Do you know how you will be evaluated? 
 

In quality training, there will be a variety of evaluation methods, such as written and oral tests, demonstrations, small 
group assignments, etc. There should be frequent feedback about your progress. You should know how success is 
defined and measured and how it will be assessed. And you should have a say in how success is defined for you.  
  
 
Will your instructors be top quality? 
 

Trainers should have recognized qualifications, demonstrated instructional knowledge and skills for adult learning, 
relevant experience and/or current knowledge in the field.  You should have the opportunity to provide feedback to 
instructors and program organizers.  
 
 
 

Documenting Training & Professional Development 
 
No matter what training options you choose, you should receive documentation of both the training and your 
attendance. Independent trainers or consultants, as well as training companies and organizations, should present each 
individual who attends the training with a certificate. This certificate should include:

♦ Title of training 
♦ Date of training 
♦ Number of credit hours 

♦ Location of training 
♦ Trainer's name and signature 
♦ Your name and signature

 
And if the training is state-approved (which it must be in order to count toward the 10 hour annual licensing 
requirement), the certificate should also include:  
♦ Trainer code (in the format TR-BFTS-number) 
♦ Training code (in the format TG-BFTS-number) 
♦ Competency goal(s) 
♦ Training level (Beginning, Intermediate, or Advanced) 
♦ Training expiration date Note: A training’s expiration date reflects the last date the trainer is approved to provide 

that training; the credit you receive for attending the training does not expire.  
♦ If the training is from an approved entity, instead of a trainer code and training code, the certificate should have an 

approved entity code (in the format AE-BFTS-number). 
  
 
 

Questions? Contact Us 
 

 
 

 

 

Georgia Training Approval is managed on behalf of Bright from the Start by the University of Georgia Center for Continuing 
Education. The system is funded by Bright from the Start, in part through the Federal Child Care and Development fund. For more 
information about Georgia Training Approval, visit www.training.decal.ga.gov. 
  

Georgia Training Approval  
1197 South Lumpkin St., Suite 164  Athens, GA 30602 

866-425-0220, TrainingApproval@georgiacenter.uga.edu 

http://www.training.decal.ga.gov/

