
Training Approval Application Submission Guide for  

CCDF Health and Safety Orientation PLUS  
First Year Basic Six Training  

Georgia	Training	Approval	is	managed	on	behalf	of	Bright	from	the	Start	by	the	University	of	Georgia	Center	for	Continuing		
Education.	The	system	is	funded	by	Bright	from	the	Start,	in	part	through	the	Federal	Child	Care	and	Development	fund.	For	more	
information	about	Georgia	Training	Approval,	visit	www.training.decal.ga.gov. 

Eligible trainers may submit a CCDF Health and Safety OrientaƟon Plus First Year Basic Six Training for state ap-

proval by compleƟng a Training Approval ApplicaƟon that meets both Georgia Training Approval expectaƟons 

and the CCDF requirements listed below.  Compliance with state regulaƟons regarding the CCDF Health and 

Safety OrientaƟon Training is required for any provider serving children receiving subsidy; however, DECAL is 

also requiring that ALL licensed and exempt providers take the Health and Safety OrientaƟon.  The PLUS  training 

includes the first year training for direct care staff including: a) at least 4 hours of training on disease control, 

cleanliness, basic hygiene, illness detecƟon, illness disposiƟon and childhood injury control; and b) at least 2 

hours of training in idenƟfying, reporƟng and meeƟng the needs of abused, neglected or deprived children.  To-

tal number of hours must equal at least 8 hours. Georgia Approved Trainers can submit training to be approved 

and may list their CCDF trainings in the Training Calendar at www.training.decal.ga.gov.  

 
CCDF Health and Safety Orienta on Training Content 

The CCDBG Act of 2014 added a new provision specifying that States must establish health and safety requirements 

for providers serving children receiving CCDF assistance relaƟng to maƩers included in the topics listed below, and 

have pre-service or orientaƟon training requirements, appropriate to the provider seƫng, that address these health 

and safety topic requirements.  This requirement is applicable to all child care providers, regardless of receiving CCDF 

and of licensing status (licensed or exempt).  The training must include a break down of the specific content hours 

rela ng to Health and Safety, which must include the following: 

Required Content: 

PrevenƟon and control of infecƟous diseases (including immunizaƟon) 

PrevenƟon of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping pracƟces 

AdministraƟon of medicaƟon, consistent with standards for parent consent 

PrevenƟon of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reacƟons 

Building and physical premises safety, including idenƟficaƟon of and protecƟon from hazards that can cause bodily 
injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic 

PrevenƟon of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma 

Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulƟng from a natural disaster or a threatening 
incident (such as violence at a child care facility) 

Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio contaminants 

PrecauƟons in transporƟng children (if applicable) 

First Year Basic Six Training: 

Direct care staff within the first year of employment must obtain 10 hours of training, 6 of which are:  a) at least 4 

hours of training on disease control, cleanliness, basic hygiene, illness detecƟon, illness disposiƟon and childhood 

injury control; and b) at least 2 hours of training in idenƟfying, reporƟng and meeƟng the needs of abused, neglected 

or deprived children.   


